Greg Trevino Memorial Scholarship

Greg Trevino began his TCU career as a student in 1991. He hit the ground running. He was an Orientation Student Assistant, Vice President of the Student Body in charge of programming, and a myriad of other positions that changed individuals and the campus community for the better.

Following graduation in 1995, Greg worked several years in the “corporate world,” but was excited to return to campus as a member of the TCU Alumni Office Staff. By 2000, Greg had joined the Intercultural and Inclusiveness Office. He loved every minute he was there, making a difference in the lives of every student that passed through his door.

In a serious car accident on the evening of May 17, 2008, Greg died on May 27th. This scholarship was established to honor Greg, his character and his legacy. We accept applications and nominations from faculty and staff for this scholarship. The application/nomination process is coordinated late in each fall semester.

Greg Trevino Memorial Scholarship Criteria

The purpose of this scholarship is to recognize a continuing student whose life reflects a commitment to the values of diversity & inclusion. Preference will be given to students who have completed a minimum of 30 hours at TCU, have financial need, and are of Hispanic heritage. This student will be recognized for possessing attributes associated with the character of Greg Trevino and celebrated by those who knew him. These gifts include:

  • An intentionally kind heart,
  • A generous spirit, including motivating words of encouragement,
  • A positive outlook for self and others,
  • A belief in the respect, worth and dignity of every person,
  • A commitment to celebrating the diversity in all of us, and in so doing, bringing us all together in our humanity,
  • A commitment to change the world one relationship at a time.
Complete Application on the Horned Frog Scholar Search


2021 Application closes on October 17, 2021.

For information on past recipients, please visit the Alumni web site below.

Past Recipients